Crunch Time

It’s been a wild few weeks for me. Honestly is now in its final stages of being proofed for publication, and I’ve been going insane promoting it with posters including a countdown, making promos for it, organizing another takeover bash in V.J.’s VIP Lounge, and even setting up a few more takeovers around Facebook to help promote it even more.

We are six days away from it hitting the shelves at Extasy Books, and although I’m really excited to have another release with them, I’m also a bit nervous. Honestly is my first venture into the LGBTAQ+ romance realm, and although I was told I handled the topics featured in it with sensitivity and respect, I’m hoping those in the LGBTAQ+ community think I handled things the right way. People have told me they were happy to see me representing pansexuality, bisexuality and people who were assigned the wrong gender at birth – in Avery’s case, assigned female when in reality, he’s a guy – so hopefully it goes over well with others out there, ones who are just finding my work. Fingers crossed that people like it, and they fall in love with Avery and Dana.

This story was not an easy one to write, but at the same time, I am glad I wrote it. I’m hoping this book will help open the door to have trans, non-binary, genderfluid and two spirited people as leading characters in more mainstream romance novels, and others out there will see at least a few of the problems they face with acceptance and such for just being themselves.

As Dana’s cousin Ewan says in Honestly, “It’s not a crime to be yourself, no matter what others think.”

I just wish the misguided and misinformed people out there would see that instead of insisting everyone be in some neat little boxes the misguided ones have in their minds…

Honestly was featured in a blog entry on Extasy Books main site this weekend. If you want a sneak peek, click here: https://www.extasybooks.com/blogs?post_id=11

Thanks to the staff at Extasy Books for featuring it this time! I am so tickled and honored to be featured this week!

I’m hosting a release day party and birthday takeover bash in my group, V.J.’s VIP Lounge on August 19, 2022 from 10 AM to 10 PM Eastern Time. Honestly is coming out on my birthday this year, and I’m beyond excited. It’s a double celebration, so I plan on living it up and having a blast with a lot of my friends, new and old, and hopefully some readers that day.

The sun sets beside a campground on Rissers Beach, Nova Scotia

Honestly Release Day Party and V.J.’s Birthday Takeover Bash

Date: August 19, 2022

Where: V.J.’s VIP Lounge https://www.facebook.com/groups/vjsvips

Time: NOON to 10 PM Eastern (Free Promo Hour starting at 10 AM EDT)

Participating Authors include:

  • D.S. Dehel
  • Maggie Blackbird
  • Tim Smith
  • Kat Blackthorne
  • Cameron Allie
  • Scarlet Blackwell
  • Deja Black
  • Bre Rose
  • Adalynd Grayves
  • Kris Jacen
  • Stephanie Nichole
  • Lyndell Williams
  • V.J. Allison

Special appearance by Extasy Books.

Special giveaway by Gabriella Bradley and Taryn Jameson.

I will be giving away at least one ebook copy of Honestly via Extasy Books site. I can’t wait! It’s going to be so much fun!

Last chance to sign up! I will be handing out mod status to anyone who doesn’t have it yet on Monday, so get in there now!

SIGN UP HERE!!

Everyone is welcome to come in and join in the fun. My group is for authors and readers!

I will also be doing a Meet the Author in Book Carousel on August 22, 2022, and I will be featuring Honestly, as well as my other books published by Extasy Books.

To join in the fun, you can join Book Carousel here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/bookcarousel

Upcoming takeovers in Book Carousel include Maggie Blackbird on August 15, 2022 and Kat Blackthorne on September 19th.

As for my other work, I’m almost finished the preliminary work on Feathered Tartan 4, which is a short story and it is the first part of a duology within the series. It features Joshua Campbell (Dana and Ewan’s cousin) who is dealing with a lot of issues. He meets fiery redhead Lauren at a tropical resort, and one thing leads to another…

Warning: Feathered Tartan 4 will not be a romance so to speak. It will not have a happy ever after or even a happy for now. It will wrap up in Feathered Tartan 5, which I hope to write immediately after Book 4 is drafted, so I can keep things rolling smoothly and submit the two stories within a month of each other, IF I can do it. If not, I’ll just have to hold back on submitting Book 4 until Book 5 is ready.

I’m so ready for Honestly to hit the shelves. It was over 3 years in the making, and I’m so happy everyone is finally going to see how amazing Dana and Avery are. I love them dearly, and I hope all of you love them as much as I do.

Don’t forget to check out Maggie Blackbird’s hot new release, His Proposition, available now from Extasy Books! https://www.extasybooks.com/His-Proposition

Have an amazing weekend everyone! My favorite band, Disturbed, recently released a new track, Hey You, from their upcoming album that will be out later this year. I love it! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do… Check it out!

Leave a comment